Monday, December 27, 2010

Gayle Wilson Award - Published Writers



2011 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence

The Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, sponsored by RWA chapter Southern Magic, was conceived in honor of multi-RITA Winner Gayle Wilson to award excellence in published romance fiction. The contest is judged by avid readers of romance, booksellers, and/or librarians. The winners of each category are awarded a bookmark engraved with the author’s name and the book’s title. Winners will also be included in a full-page RWR advertisement.

Eligibility: Entries must be received by January 15, 2011. Novels and novellas must have a copyright and first printing date of 2010, no matter the format. Books are eligible to enter as long as they are published by a non-vanity, non-subsidy publisher. Ebooks may be entered as long as they are in print format—in perfect or case binding, and printed on both sides of the page by the publisher with the copyright page.

For the purposes of this contest, Southern Magic uses the definition of "non-vanity, non-subsidy" as defined by Romance Writers of America: "Subsidy" or "Vanity" publishing means the production of books in which the author participates in the costs of production or distribution in any manner, including assessment of fees or other costs for editing and/or distribution. This definition includes publishing programs that withhold or seek full or partial payment or reimbursement of publication or distribution costs before paying royalties, including payment of paper, printing, binding, production, sales or marketing costs; publishing programs whose authors exclusively promote and/or sell their own books; and publishers whose business model and methods of publishing are primarily directed toward sales to the author, his/her relatives and associates." If you have any questions about eligibility, please contact the contest coordinator.

Entry fee: $30 first book; $25 subsequent books.

Author must provide three copies of the entered book, which will not be returned. Finalists will be notified in March 2011. All finalists receive a certificate. Winners receive an engraved bookmark and inclusion in a full-page RWR ad. Authors may enter more than one novel; however, the same novel may not be entered in multiple categories. If a category does not receive at least 5 entries, the category will be canceled, and the entrants’ books and entry fees will be returned.

Categories for entry:

Contemporary (Single Title and Series)
Romantic Suspense (Single Title and Series)
Inspirational (Single Title and Series)
Paranormal/Fantasy/ Futuristic/Time Travel
Young Adult
Novella (20,000 – 40,000 Words)

Judging: All entries are judged by avid readers of romance, booksellers, and/or librarians. The top two scores are added to form the final score. The lowest score is dropped. Ties are broken using the dropped low score. After the dropped low score is used, if there is still a tie for first place, authors will be asked to send two additional copies of the book to break the tie. Failure of the author to supply these copies in a timely manner will result in forfeiture of the win.

Books are given to the judges as a “thank you” for judging. They are not returned. Scores and finalist placement are not revealed. Score sheets are not returned. The decision of the judges is final.

PLEASE NOTE: We would like to make this contest electronic this year (as much as we can for a published contest). Entered books will go to an address different than the PO address listed below. The address (for books) will be sent later in an “Entry Confirmation” email.

Make checks payable to Southern Magic, or send entry fee by PayPal. When sending by PayPal, send funds to Please type the category of your entry in the comment section of PayPal.

Send electronic entry forms (preferred method) to:

Callie James at


Send paper entry forms (NO BOOKS) and checks to:

Callie James
Southern Magic Contest Coordinator
Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence
PO Box 261
McCalla, AL 35111-0261



No comments: